Snapshot of Boston Mayoral and City Council Races

Preliminary races for Mayor, one incumbent Councilor and three open seats

The ballot for the 2017 Boston Preliminary Election for Mayor and City Council is set for September 26th, which will result in the selection of two candidates for each competitive seat in the General Election on November 7th.  Of the incumbent candidates, only the Mayor and District City Councilor Mark Ciommo (D9) face competition in the Preliminary Election.  Multiple candidates are competing for two seats in three District Council races (D1,D2,D7) where the incumbent Councilor has decided not to run for re-election.  Five District Councilors are running unopposed.  The numbered candidate order in the tables below reflects the ballot order in the competitive preliminary races.

Mayoral Race

Mayor Marty Walsh is running for re-election and is being challenged by District City Councilor Tito Jackson (D7) and two other opponents.

1 Tito Jackson
2 Joseph Wiley
3 Robert Cappucci
4 Marty  Walsh*


The four incumbent At-Large City Councilors are running against four challengers so there will be no preliminary race.

Michael Flaherty *
Annissa Essaibi-George*
Ayanna Pressley *
Michelle Wu *
Domingos DaRosa
Althea Garrison
William King
Pat Payaso
*Incumbent ** Order set in Nov.

Unopposed District Races

Four incumbent District City Councilors are running unopposed.

Unopposed Districts
Frank Baker* District 3
Andrea Campbell* District 4
Tim McCarthy* District 5
Matt O’Malley* District 6

District Races with Challengers

The three District seats vacated by Councilors LaMattina (D1), Linehan (D2), and Jackson (D7) have drawn multiple candidates.  Councilor Jackson is giving up his D7 seat because a candidate now cannot run for both Mayor and City Council.  Councilor Ciommo (D9) faces two challengers in a preliminary race.  Councilor Zakim (D8) has one opponent and will only run in the General Election.

District 1 District 7
1 Margaret Farmer 1 Roy Owens
2 Stephen Passacantilli 2 Deeqo Jirbil
3 Lydia Marie Edwards 3 Angelina Camacho
District 2 4 Brian Keith
1 Peter Lin-Marcus 5 Joao Gomes Depina
2 Kora Vakil 6 Domonique Williams
3 Corey Dinopoulos 7 Hassan Williams
4 Michael Kelley 8 Rufus Faulk
5 Edward Flynn 9 Steven Wise
6 Joseph Kebartas 10 Jose Lopez
7 Erica Tritta 11 Kim Janey
District 8** 12 Charles Clemons
Kristen Mobilia 13 Carlos Henriquez
Joshua Zakim*
District 9
1 Brandon Bowser
2 Alexander Golonka
3 Mark Ciommo*
*Incumbent       **Order set in November


You may also like...